…Psalm 26: Are You Sealed in God?

RE_BLOG  JANUARY 23, 2013 BY 

 

Are you sealed [made secure] by the Father through Jesus Christ His Son?
Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts… as a guarantee of what is to come.  

2 Cor 1:21-22

Seek the LORD while He may be found.  Call upon Him while He is near.
Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts, and let him return to the LORD, and He will have compassion on him–
And to our God, For He will abundantly pardon.  “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Neither are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.  “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.  “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return there without watering the earth, and making it bear and sprout, and furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater– So shall My word be which goes forth from My mouth.  It shall not return to Me empty. Without accomplishing what I desire, and without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it .
Isaiah 55:6-11
.

 images (1)Covenants are binding.   David and Jonathan had an exceedingly strong  relationship before the Lord and made an everlasting covenant between themselves. 1 Samuel 23:16-18, says this,  ”David was in the Wilderness of Ziph in a forest. Then Jonathan, Saul’s son, arose and went to David in the woods and strengthened his hand in God.  And he said to him, ‘Do not fear, for the hand of Saul my father shall not find you. You shall be king over Israel, and I shall be next to you. Even my father Saul knows that.”  So the two of them made a covenant before the Lord. And David stayed in the woods, and Jonathan went to his own house.’” 

To be in a covenant relationship with God, we are sealed by Him in with binding agreement.  It is an agreement of Promises that can not be broken or forsaken. He will care for and provide for every one of His own, including you and me.

Saul may be looking for David, but it is Jonathan who finds David. Jonathan could not have appeared at a better time, and his words couldn’t have been any better chosen. The purpose of Jonathan’s visit is to encourage David in God. Jonathan’s encouragement is summed up in verse 17, making these assurances to David:

(1) Jonathan tells David not to be afraid. With Saul’s resources it seems as though impossible for David to escape him. Saul has publicly ordered David to be detained and brought to him or to reveal his place of hiding. David’s fears are not without reason, but Jonathan tells David not to be afraid.

(2) Jonathan assures David that in spite of his father’s efforts to find him, he will not succeed.  Jonathan not only joyfully accepts this fact, but has purposed to be David’s most loyal servant and supporter.

(3) Jonathan’s assurance is rooted in the sovereignty of the God whom he and David serve, whom Saul seeks to resist. If David is God’s choice for Israel’s next king, then no one including King Saul, will be able to kill him and thwart God’s purposes and promises.

(4) Jonathan’s loyalty is not a secret. Jonathan’s father Saul is fully aware of his son’s loyalty to David, even though he does not like it. Jonathan has not kept his association with David a secret, possibly encouraging others in the kingdom to support David as well.

(1 Samuel 23:25-29)  Encouragement comes at the right moment, and it picks the right words to say. Encouragement addresses fear and promotes courage.  At its root, encouragement is helping to instill courage upon those who are afraid.  When Saul and his men went to seek him, they told David. Therefore he went down to the rock, and stayed in the Wilderness of  Maon.  And when Saul heard that, he pursued David in the Wilderness of Maon.    Then Saul went on one side of the mountain, and David and his men on the other side of the mountain.  David made haste to get away from Saul, for Saul and his men were encircling David and his men to take them.

But a messenger came to Saul, saying, “Hurry and come, for the Philistines have invaded the land!”  Therefore Saul returned from pursuing David, and went against the Philistines; so they called that place the Rock of Escape.  Then David went up from there and dwelt in strongholds at En Gedi.

Who would have believed a hostile attack against Israel would be God’s means for preserving the life of her next king? God often saves when all human hope is gone, and then in ways we would never have predicted or expected. He does so because He is God, because His resources are unlimited, and because His way of doing things is beyond our imagination…

 In this Psalm, David by the Spirit of God, speaks of himself as  innocent…  there is a comparison with that of  Christ.  The man that walks in his integrity, yet trusting wholly in the grace of God, is in a state of acceptance according to the covenant of which Jesus was the Mediator.   He longs to be satisfied by practicing only the holy commands of God.  Great care to avoid bad company, is  a good evidence of our integrity.  Hypocrites may be found attending to God’s laws—but it is a better sign of sincerity to the Lord if we exercise repentance and have a conscientious desire for obedience.
.
Psalm 26 – A psalm of David
1     Vindicate me, O Lord,  for I have walked in my integrity.
     I have also trusted in the Lord, I shall not slip.
2    Examine me, O Lord, and prove me, try my mind and my heart.
3     For Your loving-kindness is before my eyes, and I have walked in Your truth.
.
4     I have not sat with idolatrous mortals, nor will I go in with hypocrites.
5     I have hated the assembly of evildoers, and will not sit with the wicked.
6     I will wash my hands in innocence—so I will go about Your altar, O Lord,
7     That I may proclaim with the voice of thanksgiving and tell of all Your wondrous works.
.
8     Lord, I have loved the habitation of Your house, and the place where Your glory dwells.
9    Do not gather my soul with sinners, nor my life with bloodthirsty men,
10     In whose hands is a sinister scheme, and whose right hand is full of bribes.
11     But as for me, I will walk in my integrity, redeem me and be merciful to me.
12    My foot stands in an even place— In the congregations I will bless the Lord.
One thought on “…Psalm 26: Are You Sealed in God?

  1. Are you sealed [made secure] by the Father through Jesus Christ His Son?
    Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts… as a guarantee of what is to come. 2 Cor 1:21-22

    And do not grieve the Holy Spirit, in whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Eph 4:30

Comments are closed.