…Psalm 89:1-4 My Mercy Shall Never Depart!

Although God’s mercy is over all his worksdelivering us from sin through Christ was the supreme act of God’s mercy.

 

The Promise of the Coming Messiah–My Mercy Shall Never Depart From You

cross-by-nathan-furr-free-photo-12439

It is God’s covenant with David that would establish God’s kingdom and his throne forever. David’s response reveals the depth of his spiritual insight and the loyalty of his heart to God’s will.

The time of the covenant was after David expressed his desire to build a temple for the Lord. It was his plan to provide a proper dwelling place for the ark of God. Nathan, the prophet, at first thought the idea was a good one. He encouraged David to proceed.  That night, however, God revealed his will to Nathan. David would not build the temple, but his son would instead.

God’s message to David through Nathan contains some wonderful promises. God spoke of his dealings with his people when they were pilgrims on their way to the Promised Land. He spoke of the history of his dealings with David—He had taken him as a poor shepherd boy and had made him king over all of Israel. He promised to make his name great. He declared he would appoint a place for his people Israel.

Instead of David building a house for God, rather God promised to build a house for David. He would establish his kingdom forever and make his name great.—“I will not take my steadfast love from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I put away from before you.” David recognized that it was God who had driven out enemies As God had promised to magnify David’s name, he in response made a covenant to magnify the name of the Lord forever.

This covenant, known as the Davidic Covenant was made through which the Messiah, Jesus Christ, would come from the lineage of David, from the tribe of Judah.  His kingdom will be established and will endure forever.   The promise rests on God’s faithfulness and  does not depend on David’s or Israel’s obedience.

“I will be his Father, and he shall be My son.  If he commits iniquity, I will chasten him with the rod of men and with the blows of the sons of men.  But My mercy shall not depart from him… 2 Samuel 7:14

 God gives us the same kind of mercy.  Now is a good time to look at how God’s mercy towards us is an act of His great love in sending His Son –

“His tender mercies are over all his works.” Psalm 145:9 

His mercy is eternal and unchanging.  God’s mercy is “from everlasting to everlasting”Psalm 103:17,

His mercies will not cease or fail, “they are new every morning!  Great is your  faithfulness!” –Lamentations 3:22-23 

For we ourselves were also once foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving various lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful and hating one another. But when the kindness and the love of God our Savior toward man appeared, not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit.  –Titus 3:3-5

Although God’s mercy is over all his worksdelivering us from sin through Christ was the supreme act of God’s mercy.

Psalm 89:1-4   
1     I will sing of the mercies of the Lord forever–
     With my mouth will I make known Your faithfulness to all generations.
2     For I have said, “Mercy shall be built up forever,
     Your faithfulness You shall establish in the very heavens.”
3     “I have made a covenant with My chosen,
     I have sworn to My servant David:
4     ‘Your seed I will establish forever,
     And build up your throne to all generations.’ ”      Selah
.
–Passage:  -1 Chronicles 7:4-15, 16-27

“David shall not build Me a house to dwell in. For I have not dwelt in a house since the time that I brought up Israel from out of the wilderness…  My servant David, “I took him from the sheepfold, from following the sheep, to be ruler over My people Israel…  I have been with him wherever he has gone, and have cut off all his from before him…I will appoint a place for My people Israel, and will plant them… and the sons of wickedness shall oppress them no more.  Furthermore, I tell you that the Lord will build him a house.  It shall be when his days are fulfilled, when he must go to be with his fathers, that I will set up his seed after him.  It will be his own son, in whom I will establish My kingdom.  And he shall build Me a house, and I will establish his throne forever…”
… then Nathan went to speak with David.

Then King David went in and sat before the Lord he said:  “Who am I, O Lord God? And what is my house, that You have brought me this far?  And yet this was a small thing in Your sight, O God; and You have also spoken of Your servant’s house for a great while to come, and have regarded me according to the rank of a man of high degree, O Lord God. What more can David say to You for the honor of Your servant? For You know Your servant. O Lord, for Your servant’s sake, and according to Your own heart, You have done all this greatness, in making known all these great things. O Lord, there is none like You, nor is there any God besides You, according to all that we have heard with our ears. And who is like Your people Israel, the one nation on the earth whom God went to redeem for Himself as a people—to make for Yourself a name by great and awesome deeds, by driving out nations from before Your people whom You redeemed from Egypt?  For You have made Your people Israel Your very own people forever; and You, Lord, have become their God.”

“And now, O Lord, the word which You have spoken concerning Your servant and concerning his house, let it be established forever, and do as You have said. So let it be established, that Your name may be magnified forever, saying, ‘The Lord of hosts, the God of Israel, is Israel’s God.’ And let the house of Your servant David be established before You.  For You, O my God, have revealed to Your servant that You will build him a house. Therefore Your servant has found it in his heart to pray before You. And now, Lord, You are God, and have promised this goodness to Your servant. Now You have been pleased to bless the house of Your servant, that it may continue before You forever; for You have blessed it, O Lord, and it shall be blessed forever.”

.

