…Psalm 132: David returns the Ark to Jerusalem – bringing Stability, Security, Rest

For the Lord has chosen Zion,
     He has desired it for His dwelling place:
   “This is My resting place forever–
     Here I will dwell,  for I have desired it.  Psalm 132:13-14
david ark Domenico_Gargiulo_David_bearing_the_ark_of_testament_into_Jerusalem
The Ark of the Covenant had been captured (1 Samuel Chapter 4) by the Philistines at the end of the period of the Judges.  They  believed by capturing it for themselves God would provide abundance and blessings–but rather, the opposite.  For seven months it caused them much trouble.  It was returned back to Israel.
.
1 Samuel 6:1 -7:1. The Israelites were so overjoyed to see the ark after seven months they rejoiced and offered sacrifices to the Lord.  Unfortunately the people of Beth Shemesh not only rejoiced at the return of the ark with sacrifices in worship… they also desecrated it by opening it and looked inside.  This violated the Mosaic statute that only Levites could handle the ark and not even they could touch it directly, to say nothing of looking inside.  Numbers 4:5, 15, 20).  The sin of the people of Beth Shemesh was a violation of the clear will of God.  Not only unbelievers (the Philistines) suffered when the Law of the Lord was disregarded, God’s own people also suffer when they do not conform to His strict requirements. After this disaster at Beth Shemesh the ark was moved again, this time to Kiriath Jearim about 10 miles northwest of Jerusalem.  The ark remained in Kiriath Jearimthe, under custody of the family of Abinadab.

.
The period of the Judges has passe, King Saul has been put to rest, and now the Lord has appointed a new king to sit on His throne in the city of Jerusalem.   David establish Jerusalem as the capital of his newly united kingdom.   The Ark of the Lord was the symbol of God’s presence among his people.  David brought back the Ark of God’s Covenant to the people after it had been captured by the Philistines in battle.  The first act of David as King was to set out and return it back to Jerusalem.  The Ark of the Covenant represented the sacred dwelling place of God.

    The world seeks after the provisions of stability, security, and rest. But, should be looked for only in the places where God means for them to be found.  Mount Zion represents stability.  Mount Zion can not be shaken—because God has set it apart for His own dwelling place.  

All other mountains will one day be shaken and the hills be removed  Isaiah 54.10.

  Jerusalem is security.  If you have ever traveled to Jerusalem, no matter from what point you enter, you must pass through the mountains that surround it on all sides.  The presence of God also surrounds His people.

In righteousness you shall be established;
You shall be far from oppression, for you shall not fear…
 
No weapon formed against you shall prosper,
And every tongue which rises against you in judgment, You shall condemn.
This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is from Me,”
says the Lord.   Isaiah 54:14-17
—    Stability and security offer us rest.
God has declared  “This is my resting place, forever and ever… We will always enter into rest when we are surrounded by His presence.
.
PSALM 132    The Eternal Dwelling of God in Zion
1     Lord, remember David and all his afflictions;
2     How he swore to the Lord, and vowed to the Mighty One of Jacob:
3     “Surely I will not go into the chamber of my house,
     Or go up to the comfort of my bed;  I will not give sleep to my eyes
     Or slumber to my eyelids,
5     Until I find a place for the Lord, a dwelling place for the Mighty One of Jacob.”
.
6     Behold, we heard of it in Ephrathah. We found it in the fields of  the woods.
7     Let us go into His tabernacle, Let us worship at His footstool.
8    Arise, O Lord, to Your resting place, You and  the ark of Your strength.
9     Let Your priests be clothed with righteousness, And let Your saints shout for joy.
10     For Your servant David’s sake, Do not turn away the face of Your Anointed.
.
11    The Lord has sworn in truth to David.
     He will not turn from it:  “I will set upon your throne the fruit of your body.
12     If your sons will keep My covenant And My testimony which I shall teach them,
     Their sons also shall sit upon your throne forevermore.”
13    For the Lord has chosen Zion, He has desired it for His dwelling place:
14     “This is My resting place forever; Here I will dwell, for I have desired it.
.
15     I will abundantly bless her provision;  I will satisfy her poor with bread.
16    I will also clothe her priests with salvation, And her saints shall shout aloud for joy.
17     There I will make the horn of David grow; I will prepare a lamp for My Anointed.
18     His enemies I will clothe with shame, But upon Himself His crown shall flourish.”

