…Psalm 39 We want a King! Pray for Wisdom!

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth does not become weary or tired. His understanding is inscrutable.     Isaiah 40:28 

 Next  followed the period of the Judges.  There were 15 judges in all and the last judge over Israel was Samuel. His wisdom was like none other.  There can be only one all-sufficient authority in any man’s life.  No government can supply all that we need—whether the need be physical, financial or spiritual, the supply of every need is guaranteed if we have a relationship with God, through Jesus Christ. 

Is it possible to have that kind of assurance?  An intimate personal relationship with the Lord is not only possible… but the only way to be assured of a life both here now and later after death.  No earthly king or any authority of government now can give that.  Read in 1 Samuel Chapter 8,  Now it came to pass when Samuel was old that he made his sons judges over Israel… however his sons did not walk in his ways, they turned aside after dishonest gain and took bribes and perverted justice.  Then all the elders of Israel gathered together and came to Samuel at Ramah, and said to him, “Look, you are old, and your sons do not walk in your ways.  Now make us a king to judge us like all the nations.”  This greatly displeased Samuel when they said it, so Samuel prayed to the Lord.

PSALM 39   Prayer for Wisdom and Forgiveness

1     I said, “I will guard my ways, lest I sin with my tongue–
     I will restrain my mouth with a muzzle, while the wicked are before me.”
2   I was mute with silence,  I held my peace even from good, and my sorrow was stirred up.
3     My heart was hot within me while I was musing, the fire burned.
     Then I spoke with my tongue:
.
4     “Lord, make me to know my end, and what is the measure of my days,
     That I may know how frail I am.
5     Indeed, You have made my days as handbreadths,
     And my age is as nothing before You. Certainly every man at his best state is but vapor.     
Selah
6     Surely every man walks about like a shadow.  Surely they busy themselves in vain;
     He heaps up riches, and does not know who will gather them.
7     “And now, Lord, what do I wait for?  My hope is in You.
8     Deliver me from all my transgressions, do not make me the reproach of the foolish.
9     I was mute, I did not open my mouth, because it was You who did it.
.
10     Remove Your plague from me,  I am consumed by the blow of Your hand.
11     When with rebukes You correct man for iniquity, 
        You make his beauty melt away like a moth,surely every man is vapor.     
Selah
12     “Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear to my cry–
       Do not be silent at my tears, for I am a stranger with You, a sojourner, as all my fathers were.
13     Remove Your gaze from me, that I may regain strength, before I go away and am no more.”

Then the Lord said to Samuel,

“Heed the voice of the people in all that they say to you–for they have not rejected you, but they have rejected Me… that I should not reign over them.  According to all the works which they have done since the day that I brought them up out of Egypt, even to this day—with which they have forsaken Me and served other gods—so they are doing to you also. Now therefore, heed their voice.  However, you shall forewarn them and show them the behavior of the king who will reign over them.”

So Samuel told all the words of the Lord to the people and he said to them, and this will be the behavior of the king who will reign over you:
“He will take your sons and appoint them for his own chariots and to be his horsemen, and some will run before his chariots. He will appoint captains over his thousands and captains over his fifties, will set some to plow his ground and reap his harvest, and some to make his weapons of war and equipment for his chariots.  He will take your daughters to be perfumers, cooks, and bakers. And he will take the best of your fields, your vineyards, and your olive groves, and give them to his servants.  He will take a tenth of your grain and your vintage, and give it to his officers and servants.  And he will take your male servants, your female servants, your finest young men, and your donkeys, and put them to his work.  He will take a tenth of your sheep. And you will be his servants.  And you will cry out in that day because of your king whom you have chosen for yourselves, and the Lord will not hear you in that day.”
Nevertheless the people refused to obey the voice of Samuel and they said, “No,we will have a king over us, that we also may be like all the nations, and that our king may judge us and go out before us and fight our battles.”  And Samuel heard all the words of the people, and he repeated them in the hearing of the Lord. So the Lord said to Samuel, “Heed their voice, and make them a king.”
 
1 Samuel 12,  Samuel said to all Israel, “I have listened to everything you said to me and have set a king over you.  Now you have a king as your leader.  As for me, I am old and gray, and my sons are here with you. I have been your leader from my youth until this day.  Here I stand. Testify against me in the presence of the LORD and his anointed.   Whose ox have I taken? Whose donkey have I taken? Whom have I cheated? Whom have I oppressed? From whose hand have I accepted a bribe to make me shut my eyes? If I have done any of these, I will make it right.”  “You have not cheated or oppressed us,” they replied. “You have not taken anything from anyone’s hand.”
  Samuel said to them, “The LORD is witness against you, and also his anointed is witness this day, that you have not found anything in my hand.” “He is witness,” they said.  Then Samuel said to the people, “It is the LORD who appointed Moses and Aaron and brought your forefathers up out of Egypt.  Now then, stand here, because I am going to confront you with evidence before the LORD as to all the righteous acts performed by the LORD for you and your fathers….
.
1 Samuel 12: 20-25   Then Samuel took a flask of oil and poured it on Saul’s head, and kissed him and said: “…the Lord has anointed you commander over His inheritance… when he stood among the people, he was taller than any of the people from his shoulders upward.  And Samuel said to all the people, “Do you see him whom the Lord has chosen? That there is no one like him among all the people?”  So all the people shouted and said,
“Long live the king!”
You said to me… ‘No, we want a king to rule over us’–even though the LORD your God was your king.  Now here is the king you have chosen, the one you asked for… If you fear the LORD and serve and obey him and do not rebel against his commands, and if both you and the king who reigns over you follow the LORD your God–good!  But if you do not obey the LORD, and if you rebel against his commands, his hand will be against you, as it was against your fathers.
Now then, stand still and see this great thing the LORD is about to do before your eyes!  Is it not wheat harvest now? I will call upon the LORD to send thunder and rain. And you will realize what an evil thing you did in the eyes of the LORD when you asked for a king.”  Then Samuel called upon the LORD, and that same day the LORD sent thunder and rain. So all the people stood in awe of the LORD and of Samuel.  The people all said to Samuel, “Pray to the LORD your God for your servants so that we will not die, for we have added to all our other sins the evil of asking for a king.” “Do not be afraid,” Samuel replied. “You have done all this evil; yet do not turn away from the LORD, but serve the LORD with all your heart.  Do not turn away after useless idols. They can do you no good, nor can they rescue you, because they are useless.  For the sake of his great name the LORD will not reject his people, because the LORD was pleased to make you his own.
      As for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the LORD by failing to pray for you. And I will teach you the way that is good and right.  But be sure to fear the LORD and serve him faithfully with all your heart; consider what great things he has done for you.  Yet if you persist in doing evil, both you and your king will be swept away.”
